35 Years Timeline

<script src=”https://d1ox703z8b11rg.cloudfront.net/assets/iframeResizer.js”></script><iframe src=”https://www.sutori.com/story/35-years-of-freedom-to-read–QYsczEDE5YQxzDiS4Pa6kZAN/embed” width=”100%” height=”600″ frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen></iframe><script src=”https://d1ox703z8b11rg.cloudfront.net/assets/iframeResizer.executer.js”></script>

CFLA-FCAB Applauds Federal Government’s Response to “Protection of Net Neutrality in Canada” Report

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE GATINEAU, July 4, 2018 – The Canadian Federation of Library Associations/Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques (CFLA-FCAB) applauds the federal government’s response to the “Protection of Net Neutrality in Canada” report from the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. The report, and the government’s support, emphasized the need to […]

World Press Freedom Day 2018

  World Press Freedom Day was proclaimed by the UN General Assembly in December 1993, following the recommendation of UNESCO’s General Conference. Since then, 3 May, the anniversary of the Declaration of Windhoek is celebrated worldwide as World Press Freedom Day. It is an opportunity to: celebrate the fundamental principles of press freedom; assess the state of […]

Author Gary Geddes wins Freedom to Read Award

Veteran author and human rights activist honoured by The Writers’ Union of Canada Toronto – The Writers’ Union of Canada (TWUC) is proud to announce that Gary Geddes (author, poet, anthologist and translator) is the recipient of the 2018 Freedom to Read Award. The award is presented annually by TWUC in recognition of work that is […]

Announcing Our Freedom to Read Champion: Dorothy Macnaughton

We are thrilled to announce this year’s Freedom to Read Champion, Dorothy Macnaughton. “Traditionally, when people talk about freedom to read, they talk about censorship: book burning, book banning and access to information that’s being intentionally kept from the public. But Dorothy Macnaughton has spent the last 20 years leading a different freedom-to-read fight: improving the […]

Announcing Freedom to Read Week 2018: February 25 – March 3

Toronto, February 20, 2018 — The Book and Periodical Council (BPC) and its Freedom of Expression Committee are pleased to announce the 34th annual Freedom to Read Week (FTRW) in Canada. A national celebration of freedom of expression that takes place in libraries, schools and arts venues across Canada, this year’s program runs from February […]

Vickery Bowles Wins OLA’s Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award

TORONTO, ON (February 3rd, 2018): Vickery Bowles, Toronto Public Library’s City Librarian, is the recipient of the 2018 Ontario Library Association Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award, given in recognition of courage shown in defending the rights of library patrons to full access to information. The award was presented to Bowles during the annual OLA Super Conference, held […]

Desmond Cole wins 2017 PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize for freedom of expression

Desmond Cole wins 2017 PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize for freedom of expression Desmond Cole has won the 2017 PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize. The $1,000 prize is awarded annually to an individual or group whose work has advanced freedom of expression in Canada. “PEN Canada understands that exercising the right to free expression often comes at personal […]

BPC Announces 2018 Freedom to Read Week Poster Illustrator

The Book and Periodical Council is thrilled to announce our poster illustrator for FTRW 2018: JEFF LEMIRE! Jeff is an illustrator and graphic novelist whose work includes the Essex Countytrilogy, The Underwater Welder, Secret Path and, most recently, Roughneck. His story “Tales from the Farm,” which appears in the Essex County trilogy, was challenged in Ontario in 2011. We can’t wait to share his poster […]

PEN Canada Looking for Champions of Free Expression

From PEN Canada Nominations sought for the PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize Nominations for the 2017 PEN Canada/Ken Filkow prize are now open. The $1,000 annual prize is awarded to an individual or group who has advanced freedom of expression in Canada. About the Prize Named in memory of Kenneth A. Filkow, Q.C., a distinguished Winnipeg […]