CCLA and CJFE mount Charter challenge against Bill C-51

>>From Canadian Journalists for Free Expression TORONTO (July 21, 2015) — The Canadian Civil Liberties Association (CCLA) and Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE) are initiating a … [Read more...]

CJFE launches new fellowship supporting Canadian free expression initiatives

TORONTO (May 21, 2015) – Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE) is excited to announce the Bob Carty Free Expression Fellowship, which will provide financial support to individuals or groups … [Read more...]

Franke James receives the inaugural PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize

>>From Pen Canada TORONTO, May 26, 2015 – Writer, artist and environmental activist Franke James will receive the inaugural PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize at PEN Canada’s Ideas in Dialogue … [Read more...]

Christiane Amanpour named UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador for Freedom of Expression

29 April 2015 – The United Nations agency mandated to promote and protect press freedom worldwide has named renowned journalist and CNN Chief International Correspondent Christiane Amanpour its … [Read more...]

American Library Association releases State of America’s Libraries Report 2015

>>See the full report. In 2014, the Office for Intellectual Freedom received 311 reports regarding attempts to remove or restrict materials from school curricula and library bookshelves. … [Read more...]

PEN Canada announces the PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize

>>From the PEN Canada website The PEN Canada/Ken Filkow Prize is given annually to an individual or institution in Canada who has demonstrated courage and integrity in the interest of freedom … [Read more...]

CLA announces 2015 winner of the Award for the Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada

>>From the Canadian Library Association (OTTAWA) February 10, 2015. The Canadian Library Association is delighted to announce that Brian Campbell has been chosen as winner of the 2015 Award … [Read more...]

Author Ron Brown wins 2015 TWUC Freedom to Read Award

– Free speech advocate who founded the award becomes its 16th recipient – >>From The Writers' Union of Canada Toronto – February 9, 2015 – The Writers’ Union of Canada (TWUC) is extremely … [Read more...]

Announcing 31st annual Freedom to Read Week

Toronto, January 21, 2015 — The Book and Periodical Council and its Freedom of Expression Committee are pleased to announce the 31st annual Freedom to Read Week in Canada. A national celebration of … [Read more...]

Prof. Alasdair Roberts wins 2014 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award

>> From CNW Group GATINEAU, QC, Oct. 30, 2014 /CNW/ - Professor Alasdair Roberts, a leading researcher in the field of access to information,has won the 2014 Grace-Pépin Access to Information … [Read more...]