» Who We Are

Who We Are

Freedom to Read Week is organized by the Book and Periodical Council (BPC), the umbrella organization for Canadian associations that are or whose members are primarily involved with the writing, editing, translating, publishing, producing, distributing, lending, marketing, reading and selling of written words.

Statement on Freedom of Expression

A statement of the basic tenets of the Freedom of Expression Committee of the Book and Periodical Council.

Freedom of Expression Committee

The BPC’s Freedom of Expression Committee monitors censorship issues in Canada, organizes the annual Freedom to Read Week, and produces an information kit each year on issues of intellectual freedom.

Committee Members

  • Michelle Arbuckle (co-chair), Ontario Library Association
  • Sandy Crawley (co-chair), National Reading Campaign
  • Ron Brown, Professional Writers Association of Canada
  • Franklin Carter, Editorial Consultant
  • Cailin Cooper, Magazines Canada
  • Teri Degler, The Writers’ Union of Canada
  • Phil Dwyer, Canadian Authors Association
  • Kate Edwards, Association of Canadian Publishers
  • Emma Hunter, Canadian Children’s Book Centre
  • Annie McClelland, Book and Periodical Council
  • Jonelle St. Aubyn, Ontario Library Association