» News » Media Releases » Prof. Alasdair Roberts wins 2014 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award

Prof. Alasdair Roberts wins 2014 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award

>> From CNW Group

GATINEAU, QC, Oct. 30, 2014 /CNW/ – Professor Alasdair Roberts, a leading researcher in the field of access to information,has won the 2014 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award.

“I am deeply honored to receive the Grace-Pépin Award,” stated Professor Roberts. “It has been a privilege to work over the years with so many Canadians who are dedicated to openness – including non-governmental groups and the media, staff in the offices of Commissioners and ombudsmen, and many hardworking professionals within government itself.”

Professor Roberts has written numerous articles for peer-reviewed journals on access to information and several reports for international bodies, including information commissioners. His book Blacked Out: Government Secrecy in the Information Age, published in 2006, provides an in-depth academic analysis of access to information issues inCanada.

“Throughout his many years of research and writing, Professor Roberts continues to raise the profile of access issues, both in Canada and abroad,”said Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada. “His body of work is at the forefront of ongoing discussions surrounding government transparency and accountability.”

Professor Roberts was unanimously selected by a committee as the winner of the award for 2014. Commissioner Legault presented the award during the 5th Annual Access to Information and Privacy Law Symposium organized by the Canadian Bar Association.

The 2014 Selection Committee was comprised of commissioners and experts including:

  • Maria MacDonald (Information and Privacy Commissioner, P.E.I.)
  • Diane McLeod-McKay (Information and Privacy Commissioner, Yukon)
  • Mel Holley (Manitoba Ombudsman)
  • Hugo Rodrigues (President of the Canadian Association of Journalists)
  • Fred Vallance-Jones (Associate Professor of Journalism at the University of King’s College).

The Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award is presented annually to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding dedication towards advancing the principles of access to information across Canada. It was named in recognition of the contributions of John Grace, former Information Commissioner of Canada, and Marcel Pépin, President and founder of the Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec.

SOURCE Office of the Information Commissioner